Resources that edify, equip, and empower disciples of Jesus to make disciples of Jesus.
Cart (0)

Sixteen Seasons

Show Table of ContentsHide Table of Contents

Table of Contents


The Stories

  1. A Day in Pursuit of Air Conditioning
  2. To Get an Uzi
  3. The Giant Saint
  4. Normal Life
  5. 100% Unnatural
  6. This Old Tajik House
  7. A Winter’s Night
  8. Bahriddin’s Wedding
  9. School Days
  10. Unity in Christ



by: David James (Author)
How would a young American missionary family react when immersed in the heart of remote Tajikistan?
Follow the James family’s adventures in an ancient Persian city an hour north of Afghanistan. Through the humor and pain of these vignettes you will discover not only a new people and their culture but will examine anew your own culture and faith.


  • James takes the routine and turns it into the wondrous, humorous, and sometimes sad—much in the tradition of James Herriot the English veterinarian surgeon (All Creatures Great and Small) who drew us into his world of animals with both laughter and pathos.
    Duane H. ElmerPhD Professor, Trinity International University
  • Having devoted my life to missionary service, I love a good read that captures the heart of another culture. Now I have a new favorite—“Sixteen Seasons” by David James. The author combines the storytelling of Hosseini (The Kite Runner) with the observation of Dalrymple (From the Holy Mountain) and adds his own spiritual reflection to the cultural interplay. The result is an insightful, entertaining account of the infusion of good news into a dark environment.
    Don Eenigenburgchurch planting Director, Christar

Additional Details

  • Pages: 286
  • Publisher: William Carey Library
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publish Year: 2011
  • ISBN: 9780878084739
  • Vendor: William Carey Library